The Legacy of 2021

This week’s HCLDR tweetchat will be the last one for 2021.

We’ve decided to take a short 3 week break over the holidays. We’ll be back with new HCLDR chats on Tuesday January 11, 2022

Joe and I wanted to give everyone back their Tuesday evenings to enjoy the holidays. Time with family and away from our computer screens has become so important these days. I know that we are spoiled here on HCLDR with such an open and supportive community, but for many, social media is a source of toxicity…so it’s nice to take a break.

With that in mind I thought it would be fun and appropriate to use this last tweetchat to reflect on the year. To me 2020 was a year of shock and 2021 turned out to be the year of reverberation.

On the positive side, we had general vaccine availability, the start of commercial space flights, and record investments in healthcare globally. On the negative side, we had COVID variants, a worsening opioid crisis, devastating weather, and Tiger King II.

Legacy of 2021

For me, the legacy of 2021 will be the Great Resignation – or more accurately, the realization by hundreds of thousands of people that they didn’t need to stick with organizations that undervalued them, treated them poorly, or were not aligned with their passions. It is a painful transition, but one that I feel is long overdue.

The restaurant, retail, hospitality, and healthcare industries have been hit particularly hard. In healthcare, we have seen nurses and clinicians leave for greener pastures – with many leaving the industry completely. It’s hard to blame them, especially when nurses are so underpaid and when the job extracts such a heavy toll on a person’s mental health.

It will be interesting to see how businesses, healthcare, and society adapts in 2022.

Memories of 2021

I feel very fortunate that I had the opportunity to attend not one, but TWO in-person healthcare conferences in 2021. It was tremendously uplifting to be able see friends and colleagues in 3 Dimensions at HIMSS21 and MGMA21. I didn’t realize how much I missed it until I shook someone’s hand for the first time in 18 months.

My time at both conferences is one of my favorite memories of 2021.

There are other fond memories of 2021 that I will carry with me into 2022:

  • The 9th anniversary of the HCLDR chat
  • Getting my mom fully vaccinated
  • Going on a mini road trip with my family
  • Seeing the rising awareness of “Health Equity”
  • The start (albeit slow) roll out of vaccines in places like Africa

Join the HCLDR Community on Tuesday December 14th at 8:30pm ET (for your local time click here) when we will be discussing:

  • T1 In your opinion, what was the best “good news” story in healthcare during 2021? Who or what uplifted you and gave you hope?
  • T2 What will be the legacy of 2021 from a healthcare perspective?
  • T3 What positive memory or development will you take from 2021 into the new year?
  • T4 What are you looking forward to the most in 2022?

Happy Holidays!

Image Credit

Photo by Jamie Coupaud on Unsplash

Leave a comment